Arts NC State Award Winners

The Arts NC State Performing and Creative Arts Awards celebrate NC State students – all non-arts majors – who create and perform in dance, music and theatre. There are two awards—the Creative Artist Award that students apply for and the Performing Artist Award that faculty vote on.

The awards are administered and funded by Arts NC State and were originally made possible from a generous grant from the NC State Foundation, Inc. The Creative Artist Award is now partially funded by the Suzanne Kennedy-Stoskopf Endowment for Creativity in the Performing Arts.


For more information, please contact Amy Sawyers-Williams, Coordinator of Arts Outreach, at 919.513.1044 or email

These awards were made possible with grant funding provided by the NC State Foundation, Inc.


2016-2017 Winners

Creative Artist Award


Gini Brown and Raine Conti


Peter Lalush

Performing Artist Award


Gini Brown- NCSU Dance Company

Danyale Calhoun- Panoramic Dance Project


Kristen Lovell- Vocal Performance

Chelsea Abad- Piano Performance

Chris Suggs- Trumpet Performance


Areon Mobasher

Visual Artist Award

Claire Hider

The award winners will receive a monetary prize, be featured in our 2017-2018 Creative State Magazine, and will be honored at the anual Bowers Award Ceremony in the fall of 2017.



2015-2016 Award Winners

Link to Press Release HERE


 2015-2016 Award Recipients

2015-2016 Performing Artist Awards

  • Dance: Rebecca Anderson and Holley Holmes
  • Music: Areon Mobasher (Voice), Spencer Monaco (Instrument), Drew Marshburn (Piano)
  • Theatre: Natalie Sherwood

2015-2016 Creative Artist Awards

  • Music: Carter Harris, Waltzometry for Jazz Ensemble
  • Theatre: Teal Lepley, Of Ghosts and Strangers
  • Dance: Leslie Barber, Everything in My Head

2014-2015 Award Recipients

2014-2015 Performing Artist Awards

  • Dance: Alexandra Cohen and Jacob Marx
  • Music: Gautaum Nagara
  • Theatre: Blair Downs

2014-2015 Creative Artist Awards

  • Theatre: William Stewart, INK
  • Theatre honorable mention: Britnique Hodge and Bethel Maekele

2013-2014 Award Recipients

Performing Artist Awards

  • Dance: Holley Holmes
  • Music: Alexandre Mangot
  • Theatre: Morgan Piner

Creative Artist Awards

  • Music: Cody Ellington
  • Theatre: Christian O’Neal

2012-2013 Award Recipients

Performing Artist Awards

  • Dance: Agee Taylor
  • Music: Nathan Schnoor
  • Theatre: Andrew Enloe and Brett Williams

Creative Artist Awards

  • Music: Robert Zachary Howell

2011-2012 Award Recipients

Performing Artist Awards

  • Dance: Hayley Dirscherl, graduate studies, Biomedical Engineering
  • Music: Daniel Kim, Nuclear Engineering and Biological Engineering
  • Theatre: Robert Steinberg, Marketing

Creative Artist Awards

  • Theatre: Michael Seebold, English (World Literature) and Philosophy
  • Read more about the 2011-2012 award recipients >

2010-2011 Award Recipients

Performing Artist Awards

  • Dance: Kelly Ann Bryant
  • Music: Daniel Cunningham
  • Theatre: Brett Williams

Creative Artist Awards

  • Dance: Ashley Nicole Walls
  • Music: Joseph M. Pilot